National Writing Project

NWP Board of Directors

The NWP Board of Directors is a broad-based, diverse group of education, civic, business, and community leaders dedicated to improving the teaching of writing in the nation's schools. The board meets three times a year. Past board members are listed here.

Brian Wong
Chair, Board of Directors
Managing Counsel,
Pacific Gas and Electric Company
San Francisco, CA
Elyse Eidman-Aadahl
Executive Director
National Writing Project,
Berkeley, CA
David Hahn
Managing Director
Media Connect
New York, NY
George Haley
Senior Partner
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP
San Francisco, CA
David Hoverman
Bain & Company
San Francisco, CA
Julie Kidd
Education Program Director
Silver Giving Foundation,
San Francisco, CA
Michael Kane
Managing Director
Caltius Mezzanine,
Los Angeles, CA
Jabari Mahiri
Professor in the Graduate School of Education
University of California, Berkeley,
Berkeley, CA
Laura Roop
Director of the Western Pennsylvania
Writing Project

University of Pittsburgh,
Pittsburgh, PA
Ellen Shelton
Director of the Pre-College Programs and UM Writing Project
University of Mississippi,
University, MS
Lawrence E. Strickling
Former Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information and Administrator, National Telecommunications & Information Administration
U.S. Department of Commerce
Chicago, IL
Sarah Woodard
Advanced Placement Language and Composition teacher
Collegiate Prep Academy
Denver, CO
© 2022 National Writing Project