National Writing Project

NWP Adds 12 New Sites to the Network

By: NWP Staff
Publication: The Voice, Vol. 9, No. 2
Date: 2004

Summary: The National Writing Project has expanded its network by another 12 sites this year, bringing the total number of sites to 185.


The National Writing Project has expanded its network by another 12 sites this year, bringing the total number of sites to 185. These new sites are now a part of the network that spans all 50 states, Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Each of the new sites will hold its first summer institute this summer (2004).

Each year, NWP receives about 30 new-site inquiries. Completed new-site applications are due in September, after which the applications are evaluated by a team of NWP senior staff members and representative site leaders who examine each application for everything from university affiliation to goals to budget proposals. Funding for new sites is competitive and tied by legislation to the NWP model. For further information about starting a local writing project site, visit the National Writing Project website. The NWP network welcomes:

Capital District Writing Project
University at Albany, State University of New York
Albany, New York
Robert Yagelski, Director

Columbus Area Writing Project
The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio
David Bloome, Director

East End Writing Project
Southampton College of Long Island University
Southampton, New York
Linda Bausch, Director

Florida State University Writing Project
Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida
Pamela S. Carroll, Director

Northern Kentucky Writing Project
Northern Kentucky University
Highland Heights, Kentucky
Lynne A. Smith, Director

Northern Plains Writing Project
Minot State University
Minot, North Dakota
Robert E. Kibler, Director

Northwestern State University Writing Project
Northwestern State University
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Suzanne Disheroon-Green, Director

Pearl of the Concho Writing Project
Angelo State University
San Angelo, Texas
Cheryl Hines, Director

Red Mountain Writing Project
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama
Maryann Manning and Bruce Comiskey, Directors

Rocky Mountain Writing Project
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, Colorado
Julie Robinson, Director

South Central Kansas Writing Project
Wichita State University
Wichita, Kansas
Dennis J. Kear, Director

Texas Bluebonnet Writing Project
University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas
Jeannine Hirtle, Director

© 2023 National Writing Project