National Writing Project

2001 Hechinger Award Nominations Now Being Accepted

By: NWP Staff
Publication: The Voice, Vol. 6, No. 3
Date: May-June 2001

Summary: Each writing project site is encouraged to nominate a teacher for the fifth annual Fred Hechinger Award, which is presented to a teacher who makes significant connections between research and practice. The deadline for nominations is July 31, 2001.


Nominations are now being accepted for the fifth annual Fred Hechinger Award. This award is presented annually to a teacher who--through classroom practice, workshop presentations, and professional writing--makes significant connections between research and practice.

The Fred Hechinger Award, which was established in 1997 by the National Writing Project and the Center for the Study of Writing and Literacy (CSWL), honors Hechinger, the late New York Times correspondent and co-chair of CSWL's national advisory board. In establishing the award, former director of the CSWL Sarah Warshauer Freedman said, "By co-chairing our board, Fred Hechinger showed his abiding concern for improving the dialogue between schools and universities. This award reflects such concern."

Each writing project site is encouraged to nominate one teacher, but self-nominations are both welcomed and encouraged. Nominations should be mailed by July 31, 2001, and full applications are due by August 15, 2001. Applicants are asked to submit a portfolio of materials including a current resume, published articles or materials from workshop presentations that illustrate connections between research and practice, and a cover letter that contextualizes items included in the portfolio. A committee consisting of university-based researchers, former CSWL advisors, and NWP site directors and teacher-consultants will review the applications and select this year's recipient, who will be presented with the award at the NWP Annual Meeting in November.

Those interested in applying or nominating someone for the award should contact Laura Snyder, Fred Hechinger Award Assistant, 510-642-0746,

Read about last year's winner:

"Paul Allison Named 2000 Fred Hechinger Award Winner," The Voice, January–February 2001

© 2023 National Writing Project